Dress Rehearsal-Tutu And Dancer At Work

Lavender Tutu By Costume Creations UK
Lavender Ballet Tutu by Costume Creations UK

The life of a classical ballet tutu goes through more stages than the metamorphoses of a butterfly. First, the concept of the actual design of the costume must be made. The choice of colors, embellishments and theme are next.

The tutu is put together then fitted and refitted with precision. It comes through the various design stages beginning life as a bolt of fabric with no shape of its own.

After the ballet costume takes shape it may rest beautifully on a dress form for a time. When the costume is finished, it has to pass an important test; the ballet dress rehearsal.

The classical ballet costume (and ballerina) are now busy perfecting the dance moves that will be performed on stage. This photo  shows the beauty of an exquisite ballet costume and dancer within the dance studio practice room.

It does remind one that ballet dancers are much more than objects of beauty. They work incredibly hard to provide ballet theatre audiences with a perfect performance. Ballet dancers and their costume designers give their all so that the show can go on and ballet traditions never die. It is work, albeit beautiful, soul-stirring work.

I just know that when I go onstage, I give everything I have, not only my feet, not only my legs, not only my body. I try to tell a story. Sometimes I am able to cry because I feel like it. Sometimes I am able to love because I feel like it.”

-Sylvie Guillam-

One comment

  1. This girl was lovely to make for – she is so beautiful, with lovely colouring and a fabulous long figure. She really suited a long skirted tutu, and the lovely lilac went so well with her hair and skintones.

Leave a Reply

